Looking for a well-supported printer/scanner (MFD)

I’ve been using a Brother HL-3180CDW for about 3 years and was pretty happy with it until it started acting up a few months ago. First, scanning directly from Preview stopped working: the “Import from Scanner” option under the File menu is permanently grayed out. Rebooting the Mac or the printer does not make a difference, and it’s happening on multiple Macs with different OS versions. Next, printing became extremely slow: it’s taking 15 minutes or more to print a one page PDF document. Finally, some print jobs occasionally are garbled, where there are only a few Dingbat like characters printed on each page.

Needless to say, I’m in the market for a new MFD. The requirements are decent print speed, color, not inkjet (I prefer Laser or LED), and decent support for scanning occasional documents.

I don’t love it, but we have an HP Color LasterJet Pro MFP M477fdw. It has worked fine for flatbed scanning, though I do little of that. And it’s a decent printer, although we sometimes have to fight with it to get it to print. Forcing the Mac to use the PostScript driver rather than the Secure AirPrint driver seems to help. And there was one time recently where it was warming up every 5 minutes; a firmware update eventually solved that.

https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-color-laserjet-pro-mfp-m477fdw

We have an Epson WorkForce 3640. It does pretty good with both scanning and printing. However, I recently realized I could scan directly into my Mac via my iPhone, and that’s much, much easier.

• Open Preview
  • Select File->Import from iPhone
  • Select Scan Document in the submenu
  • The scanner on the iPhone opens. Show it at the document. You don’t have to be perfectly level with the document. When the docucment is lined up, it will automatically scan. Skewing is automatically handled.
  • Click Save once the scan is complete.