I’m a Paramedic: Here’s How the Apple Watch Series 4 Will and Won’t Save Lives

(Rich Mogull) #1

Originally published at: https://tidbits.com/2018/10/03/im-a-paramedic-heres-how-the-apple-watch-series-4-will-and-wont-save-lives/

The Apple Watch Series 4 promises to detect falls, identify atrial fibrillation, and let wearers take electrocardiograms on demand. Rich Mogull draws on his paramedic training to evaluate how effective each of these technologies is likely to be.

(Steve Werner) #2

Great article, Rich!

(mpainesyd) #3

Thank you for that concise and frank description.

My understanding is that most of these functions are available on ealrlier watches (I have a series 3) and that Series 4 adds the basic ECG function.

(Felix) #4

@ “… make sure they wear it in the shower, when they’re most likely to have an accident. Yes, it’s sufficiently waterproof.”

I was in an Apple Store last weekend sitting at a table waiting my turn with an Apple Genius and overheard one of the Apple techs tell a customer he didn’t recommend showering with the watch on because soap, conditioner and shampoo used when showering deteriorates the watch seals and speaker membrane over time.

In retrospect, I don’t know if the tech was talking about the new AW 4 or a previous generation.

Does Apple have anything formally to say on the subject or was this just one tech’s opinion?

(Doug Miller) #5

Formally. See https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT205000 (also true for S4.)

(Doug Miller) #6

I might argue, however, that if somebody is susceptible to a dangerous fall in the shower that taking the risk that soaps might damage the waterproofing may be worthwhile. Also, AppleCare+ covers up to two incidents of water damage like that with a reasonable deductible.

(Felix) #7

Excellent points, Doug. And thanks for Apple’s link on the subject.

(Adam Engst) #8

2 posts were split to a new topic: Mojave: System Language vs Format Language

(michaelcollins) #9