Thoughts on cleaning apps?

I’ve been a Mac user since their inception, way back in 1984 when I was a freshman at Cal. I was The IT department for a division of the Stanford Medical school for over a decade. All of that being said, I’m very curious what you lot think of cleaning apps like CleanMyMac? I’m often bombarded with emails from them, and have never been a fan of apps such as these, preferring to manually maintain my computer(s). Especially since they’re now charging a premium for either the one-time purchase or their subscription.

2 Likes

CleanMyMac X is a reputable app and I’ve used it to clear up space on my Macs, but I recommend using them sparingly.

3 Likes

I use CleanMyMac X once a week or two weeks. It’s good for peace of mind.

Early versions were distributed freely, and often contained malware/viruses. Recently the company was purchased and since cleaned up the app. Unfortunately they did not change the name so it’s hard to know if you have a clean version or one that is trouble.

I prefer cleaning up libraries manually and use EtreCheck to confirm all is well.

1 Like

Do you use the Power User version of EtreCheck?

Yes, I use EtreCheck Pro

Have you upgraded to the paid Power User version?

yes, I paid

1 Like

Yes, I use the Pro (paid version) of Etreheck

Curiously, what do you get from the paid version, that you don’t get with the non-paid? I’ve read the offerings, but still unsure exactly how it helps.

I’m still unable to find anything online that shows me exactly what the benefit of the Power User version is. Would you mind attaching a few screenshots of what it provides?

from EtreCheck: Features

Power User package

Provides an advanced user interface with additional information, links to information from Apple and other sources, and buttons to easily access system settings and files in hidden directories.

Provides a graphical, interactive display of analytics information over the past few days.