SetShot Tracks macOS Settings Changes

Strangely, whenever I compare snapshots, SetShot always warns me that “both snapshots were taken without Full Disk Access for SetShot — privacy permission data and some app preferences are missing from both.” But I do have Full Disk Access turned on for SetShot in System Settings → Privacy & Security → Full Disk Access in Golden Gate (currently at 27.0.1), and I have since it was installed.

Huh! So, if you take a snapshot, change one setting in System Settings, take another snapshot, and compare the two, it will say that? It might also be interesting to toggle Full Disk Access off and back on for SetShot. If it continues after all that, email me two of your snapshots and I’ll take a look.

I was in Vancouver visiting Tristan last week, and it was fascinating to see all the things that SetShot reported as changing while I was using my MacBook Pro in ways that I don’t normally. I even added a feature to the next beta to let the user choose to ignore sound device changes, since I was switching back-and-forth from my AirPods and SetShot was noticing each time. The changes were legitimate, and I’m sure some people care about them but others will just be annoyed by the chatter. Admittedly, I have it set on a very short snapshot schedule for testing reasons.