Scanning 35mm slides to Photos

Editing the accumulation of 35mm slides and want to add the image to Photos library. The transfer would be ongoing during the editing process rather than waiting for the task to be completed. For the first 50 having COSTCO to transfer to a DVD, hoping then to transfer to Photo library.

Have looked at the Kodak Scanza Digital Film Scanner. But not sure if these images could be added to Photos. Any other alternatives in the less than $250 range ? OK on having to manually feed each slide.

Any other scanning and transfer process recommendations w/o using a commercial service?

Don

I haven’t decided whether or not to pick up one, so I have no personal experience, but this device sounded interesting to me:

Also, any JPG or TIFF (or single layer Photoshop file) can be imported to Photos as simply as dragging a folder of images to an Album in Photos.

Before you make any decisions, whether buying a scanner or using a service, decide on how high a resolution you want the scans to be. Keep in mind that the higher the resolution, the better the images.

I’ve never used a service, but I’ve been happy with scans I did myself on high res printers. This was about 15-20 or so years ago, so I can’t make any recommendations relevant today. But if you do decide to roll your own, multi slide holders will make the process much less tedious, time consuming and aggravating. Some examples are here:

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?Ntt=35mm%20slide%20holder&N=0&InitialSearch=yes&sts=ma&Top+Nav-Search=

I purchased Kodak’s Digital Film Scanner from Amazon last year to scan my negatives and slides.

I’ve been pretty happy with the unit. I’ve never been pleased with the Costco’s service. I had them transfer some 8mm films to a DVD a couple years ago. Although they did not do the work themselves and sent it out to another lab, the resulting video was very poor quality. I was not impressed.