RAM - 8 GB enough?

I’m considering a new Macbook Air (M2 chip) with 8 GB of RAM. I’m a graphic designer, so I’ve always outfitted my machines with at least 16GB. But I’m getting out of that and this machine will be used mostly for online, working with online portals with perhaps some Office 365 (Word, Excel, etc.). I won’t be editing video or doing Photoshop work.

Will 8 GB be enough? What have people here experienced?

If you are comfortable upgrading your Mac on a frequent basis, you might as well try. For the very basic web and office use you describe 8 GB might just be adequate right now. The real issue is if 8 GB will still be sufficient for that use in 2-3 years. Not an issue if you swap your Mac every 1-2 years (meaning you get to exchange that SSD heavily taxed by swap from having only 8 GB), but otherwise I would not get less than 16 GB.

I got my 14" M1 Pro with 32 GB back when it came out. I put this machine under quite some load as my main work horse, but I have to conclude 32 GB was too much and my use does not really exploit it. At the time, the alternative was 16 GB which in hindsight might have been just enough but at the time I felt would be too tight. These days with M3 Pro I could get 24 GB and I would. But then again, I also have no problem updating every cycle if I see enough reason to do so.

6 Likes

I have an M2 MBA with 16 GB and swap size only goes above 0 when I run a windows virtual machine to which I’ve dedicated 8 GB. I use the VM rarely. Even then, swap stays low.

I don’t do video editing and my only photo editing is with the built-in tools in the Photos app (and those I probably do more frequently my iPad or iPhone.)

I’m glad to have the extra 8, but I think that 8 GB would be survivable for me, easily, with the M2.

If you keep machines awhile…get 16. I is enough for most light and medium duty tasks today but who knows what will happen in 5 years.

3 Likes