Quicken 20% price increase is just wrong

Just got this email from Quicken and I’m not at all happy about it:

20% is a massive price increase when many of us are not getting salary increases, and the cost of living has only gone up. And in this case, they can’t play the “fuel surcharge” card since that’s not a significant cost for their business. How do they justify this price increase? They don’t even try (including in the linked FAQ). The increase in the number of software engineers working from home and therefore not requiring the hefty cost of brick and mortar office space?

It’s bad enough that we’re essentially forced to be on a subscription model nowadays. $5/month was a generous income stream for them for a product that has not changed substantially in 30 years. I’ve been using it since around 1994, and it is about the same feature wise. They obviously have to maintain interconnectivity with banks; but those maintenance activities get amortized over millions of subscribers.

So basically, we’re getting a massive rate hike in exchange for an icon change.

I wonder if the software still functions without the subscription? If so, I’ll probably cancel. It definitely checks that I’m paid up before updates are applied. But how easily it could break without updates is not clear to me.

3 Likes

Alright, I answered my own question:

That’s lousy. Literally, bank downloads are the only reason I use the product. That and some basic reporting.

Now accepting input on alternatives!

2 Likes

As can be seen from another thread in which I’m participating, I’m not a fan of subscriptions (or price increases). The fact you can still use the software but lose access to bank downloads is unfortunate BUT I don’t think it’s totally unreasonable.

I guess you need to ask yourself, is having to manually enter your bank data worth saving $1 a month?

4 Likes