Apple Music Support is severely lacking

I came across an albeit rare problem on Apple Music streaming service. There is an obscure 1978 album by a long defunct Canadian group. I have been listening to this album for 45 years and know it inside out and upside down. The problem is that although the track listing is correct, the track titles don’t correspond to the songs actually being played. All the songs are there, but mislabeled and in the wrong order. Should be a simple fix, right? Wrong. I was bounced around to at least 6 different people who treated me like I was an idiot and somehow the problem was on my devices. Eventually of them tried it on his own phone (that should have been step 1) and confirmed the issue. So that should have been it, right? Wrong. The next person who was from the Apple Media department, had me log out of Apple Music and log back in to see if the issue persisted. Really? After their own support person had already verified it. At that point I just asked her straight out why she was torturing me when we have already established that the problem is within Apple Music and not on my devices. All in all over one hour spent on the phone and now they have to do “further research” and get back to me. If there was a mechanism for me to have simply emailed them and let them know the actual track order vs what was listed, it would have taken 5 minutes of my time and they could have fixed it. Period. What a waste of my time. Next time I won’t bother.

2 Likes

Does Apple still use the crowd supported meta database Gracenote, or do they have their own database of albums and songs? Is there a way to go directly to Gracenote, or is it only available through a music program? I have seen this with other albums when someone has typed in the song names, but gotten something wrong, but because it was a rare album, no one ever corrected it. Can you change it in Music at the computer, by changing the listing and resubmitting it?