Your Smart TV Could Be Tracking Everything You Watch

Originally published at: https://tidbits.com/2018/07/10/your-smart-tv-could-be-tracking-everything-you-watch/

Some television sets from major brands have Samba TV spyware preinstalled that analyzes and reports back on everything you watch. It’s another reason to use an Apple TV instead.

Yup but only if connected to the internet. I use a Mac with a Superdrive instead of Apple TV though so I can watch DVDs.

Thanks for alerting us to this insidious “feature”. It makes you wonder what other spying software is embedded in Smart TVs.
As it happens I have been using an Apple TV connected to a projector for many years and don’t plan to change this.

I’ve always assumed that our Dish DVR is reporting back what shows I record, and probably which ones I watch and which ones I delete unwatched.

Your Apple TV isn’t tracking you for advertising services. But if you’ve got a cable or satellite provider, the box reports on everything that’s being, or has been, watched. Knows what you stream, and what you’vewhat you’ve DVRed. They are the distributors of content, and they know what they are distributing, and where and when.

There’s a good overview about addressable, programmatic, OTT, etc. TV here:

http://freewheel.tv/freewheel-views/advanced-tv-and-the-opportunity-ahead/

Anyone who thinks they aren’t being tracked because they cut their cords with Sling is wrong too; Dish TV bought it years ago.

https://www.broadcastingcable.com/news/vidweek-addressable-programmatic-ads-drive-sling-sales-166506