Wi-Fi Mesh Systems

Reposting this as I never saw it come across the feed.

Now that my wife and I are ceasing our full time RV lifestyle and moving back into a real house…I need to build a more comprehensive LAN for the new house. I’m a retired sysadmin and long time computer guy so ease of use isn’t of primary concern to me. Internet access will be via Comcast and I’m sure that their router includes wifi but I’ll provably just disable that or put a strong password in it and not use it.

So…back until 2012 when we moved out of our house that had Verizon FIOS we just used the Verizon router with wifi disabled and hung a gigabit ethernet switch off of it with everything connected to the switch including an Airport in bridge mode…letting the Verizon router handle DHCP for those things on a dynamic IP and using it as the main firewall between inside and outside. Is this still the best option…or is putting my own router inside the Comcast router a better solution? That would require double NATing of course and there used to be some web sites that didn’t work right with double NAT configurations…but to the best of my knowledge that’s not a problem anymore…we’ve been double NATing in the RV for the past 8 years (our router inside the RV connected via wifi to the campground router which then goes out to whoever provides connectivity to them.

Second…Mesh WiFi really didn’t exist back in 2012 when we started…at least not to the extent it’s available today. We didn’t need it in the 350 square foot RV but in the new house will surely need it, particularly for 5 GHz in a concrete block 1800 foot house. Looking at wirecutter and various other tech comparison sites…Eero, Netgear Orbi, Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD, and Linksys Velop Tri-band appear to be the top recommendations…followed by Google Nest but I’m not really in Google having that much information exfiltrated from my house so they’re probably out.