Why are Apple's base RAM and storage configs so low?

Excuse me, I’m a newbie and if I’m asking in the wrong place or in some other way doing the wrong thing, please just tell me and I’ll do my best not to be a nuisance again.

I just wonder if someone here can explain to me why Apple offer such small standard amounts of RAM, make it, on most models, impossible to upgrade unless you’re a tech whiz or prepared to pay a small fortune, and charge at exponentially greater rates than are available elsewhere for RAM upgrades?

As Adam mentions, I am someone who although having 16gb RAM on my old 21.5" iMac and my old MacBook Pro, am not infrequently met with full or almost full memory issues. I can’t imagine that I would be able to operate at all with only 8gb memory and nor can I understand why Apple would provide this new, high performance iMac with so little when, for them, purchasing it in high volume, the cost of a minimal 16gb would surely be relatively insignificant.

I also don’t understand how anyone manages with memory storage of just 128 gb given the tendency of modern applications to continually expand in size.

Adam has illuminated me to some degree in relation to hard disk storage, though I have never felt that internal storage has slowed my machines down and though I have external storage for backup I would hate to have to depend on it for general use. Knowing little, I’m probably wrong, too - but isnt’ it slower for the Mac to have to write to and read from an exernal drive than an internal one? I have a 128gb SSD and 1tb HDD on my Macbook Pro 17" (2012) and a 256gb SSD and 2 x 2tb internal HDD drives on my iMac 21.5" (2011) and these are usually about 2/3 full.