Tough time with latest copy of MS Office, Excel v. 16.68

This is just a warning post.

Though I don’t use them, I find it wise to have them to read files exchanged in their native format (I know many other apps have importers but they often change the format), if no other reason. I have a lot of experience with Excel, trying to get better at Numbers. So when I bought my wife her new M2 MacAir, there was an offer for MS Office for a discounted price for non-subscription version. She can continue the use the version she has (gotten through employment). But I was on a very old version, like 2008, and knew it wouldn’t make the trip from Mojave to Monterey. I installed it the other night. Basically in the mailed box was a card telling me to go to a site to download it, and gave a license number. Well the site given was wrong. It did download and installed an app, an .exe app, tried it, it didn’t run! Going back in (like to war), it took quite a while to find how do download the Mac Version. Also while there I read the system requirements page, that was horrible. Only references like “last three OS’s”, not absolutes. Several links didn’t work. OK, it’s downloaded and installed. First thing was to run each app and register, etc.