Time for an SSD for Time Machine

So I feel like SSDs have finally become cheap enough so I’m no longer going to even bother with HDDs for TM. Since this is for TM, I’m assuming a SATA-III interface is just fine (don’t need the added speed of PCI-connected SSDs), a simple USB-C dock will provide an inexpensive connection to the Mac. I’m aiming for 2TB.

There’s great such SSDs that have become really affordable like the Samsung 870 QVO. $213 for 2TB.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B089C73T72

I do wonder though, this SanDisk is substantially cheaper. 2 TB for just $189, and every once in a while this drive will be discounted to $180 or less. Can anybody say something really bad about this disk? It definitely sounds like a very inexpensive TM option.

https://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-SSD-PLUS-Internal-SDSSDA-2T00-G26/dp/B07YFFJK2Q

G’day Simon

Don’t know the two drives you’ve linked to.

However, re SSD – I’ve been using a set of Samsung 500GB T5 drives since 2017 for both Time Machine and Carbon Copy Cloner bootable backups via USB-C/USB 3.1 Gen 2.

CCC ones are APFS formatted, subsequently encrypted via File Vault. TM ones are formatted Mac OS Extended (Journaled, Encrypted)

Backing up to them is swift, as is restoring/ booting from.

The T5 has recently been superseded by T7 so shops here (New Zealand) have had the T5s on clearance at very attractive prices. Presume it’ll be similar where you’re located. If you’re interested in the newer T7s, be aware there are two versions; standard and fingerprint encrypted, the latter obviously more expensive

Cheers, Gobit

I opted for the 2 TB Samsung T7, which costs a bit more than what you found (with tax, it was $345 from Amazon). I chose it in part on the industrial design and good reviews—with a backup drive, I’ll often pay a little more for a perceived increase in reliability.