Tax software other than TurboTax

I also want to get away from TurboTax. Has anybody have any experience with the H&R Block tax application?

I’ve been using H&R Block for five or six years with no notable problems. Using this year as well.

Not recently, but for the year or two that I did use it, the experience was as good or better than with TurboTax. The main reason I switched was because my kids preferred TT.

What’s the OS for the H&R app.? TT now wants High Sierra-I have all the OS’s but on different volumes and I have to keep moving all my year’s documentation to the OS on the drive that it requires-kind of annoying. Next year TT wants Mojave- that is a pain.

I use the online version of Turbo Tax. No need to worry about the OS.

My main consideration is being able to file online, both state and federal, for free. For the past several years, my mother qualified for free filing using TurboTax online, but I haven’t. There’s usually an option that is available to me, but I recall that one year I resorted to using the fillable PDF forms from the IRS. Last year, I discovered that Credit Karma offered free filing for everyone. I’ll probably do that again this year.

I used Credit Karma to file federal and state income taxes for free yesterday, it was adequate for not-too-complex filing. The little “i” icons to get info about an input aren’t very good at actually explaining them. I’ve found Turbotax Online to better at providing information and generally conveying a sense that the final outcome will be good.

Free online filing is available to about 70% of US tax payers, but TT, Intuit and others hid that in a variety of ways to make you think you had to pay them. They got caught, and are now required to make the free filing easy to find. As incentive/threat, IRS has withdrawn their previous agreement to not offer their own competing free online filing service.

States rules of course vary.