Syncthing – a free OSS alternative to 3rd-party cloud syncing

So maybe you guys all already know about Syncthing, but I had never heard about it before.

Syncthing in essence does something very similar to Dropbox, iCloud, or OneDrive, but it does so directly between your various devices (no iOS yet though) without involving any 3rd parties and their clouds where you’re effectively handing your data over to somebody else. Syncthing is open source, free, and it supports macOS, Win, Linux, and Android. Syncing is configured through a very simple web interface, the actual syncs are encrypted of course. Versioning, access control/permissions, and extra options like send/receive only are included.

Leo Laporte did a brief but very interesting segment about it on his show this week (that’s how I learned about it).

https://syncthing.net

3 Likes

Syncthing is excellent. I’ve been using it for a few years. Among other things, I can keep my MoneyDance files synced between four computers (which I could do with MoneyDance’s built-in DropBox sync) and two user accounts (which I could not do with MoneyDance.). I also sync my Desktop and Documents folders between my user account on four computers. I could use iCloud for that, but this saves iCloud space.

So since there’s no iOS app yet, I assume you can access and manage your files through a web browser on iPhone/iPad?

The problem is that an iOS app would be required to run the daemon. Although you configure it through a browser, you still need the daemon to run on each device (otherwise there’s nothing to configure) and for that you’d need an iOS app. I suppose the daemon aspect is exactly the problem with getting it into the app store (but likely not the only one, I’m not sure how much Apple wants the FS to be exposed to users).

Thanks, that makes sense…