Should I start a new Time Machine backup?

On his Eclectic Light blog, Howard Oakley made the following comment in response to a comment on one of his articles:

TMH is on its way out, and has been replaced by TMA, which is better in almost every respect. I strongly encourage those using Big Sur and Monterey to start new TMA backups, not to continue using their fragile old HFS+ backups. At some time in the future, TM will stop backing up to HFS+.

(In context, I believe “TMH” refers to Time Machine → HFS+, and “TMA” refers to Time Machine → APFS.)

In my particular case, I have a 3TB USB 3.0 WD drive that I’ve been using since 2012, which is now backing up the internal SSD in my MBP (1TB). It’s essentially full (200GB of headroom, I assume maintained by TM), and the backup sets go back nine months. It is “Mac OS Extended (Journaled),” which I assume is the same as HFS+. I don’t really have any complaints about performance (of course, faster is always better), but I would like to have more than nine months’ backup history.

So, given Howard’s advice, my question for this forum is: What are the pros and cons of restarting my TM backup? If the recommendation is to do so, should I buy a new drive for this purpose (maybe larger, or faster, or maybe SSD vs. rotating), or just reformat my existing drive as APFS?

1 Like

Con: you lose your Time Machine history
Con: APFS does not perform great on spinning hard disks. Firing off those snapshots to your APFS-formatted backup drive is going to get progressively slower. APFS is really designed to be used on an SSD, so if you can find a reasonably priced device I’d use that instead.

Pro: As Howard points out, and has written on extensively, TMA backups are just much better in every way. TMH, and its fragile house of hard links has always been a major point of failure for Time Machine backups. It’s honestly a miracle that it has worked as well as it has.