Retrieving emails and addresses from crashed Apple Mail

Mail (on El Capitan and a 2009 iMac) repeatedly crashes on opening. I’ve tried various bits of advice from other sites (including Apple) to no effect. The ultimate fix seems to be to reload El Capitan (not upgradeable), but I don’t want that hassle if it is not going to work.
Questions: 1. Has anyone got any tested ideas? 2. It seems as if both the old emails and my address book are embedded in the app rather than in external files - is it possible to retrieve them? (my Contacts app only contains a few of the addresses). I noticed that there were 30K saved emails shortly before the first crash - is that an issue? BTW everything else works perfectly and the iMac has never missed a beat in 11 years.

See if you can locate an old copy of Mailsteward (current version is for Sierra up) and use the free trial to see if it can access your emails. I have been using Mailsteward to archive my emails for more than 10 years - eg from Snow Leopard to Mojave:

Thanks, Michael. I didn’t know about Mailsteward. I’ve had a quick look at it online and at the rather minimalist “manual” but haven’t spotted a way to get an older version (maybe I could raise one through this site). But before I try, it seems that you have to have Mail and its mailboxes open before you can access them from Mailsteward, and my problem is that Mail opens and then promptly closes. In other words, you can’t use Mailsteward as a can-opener on the Mail app Please let me know if you know otherwise.
DM

Mail doesn’t have to be open. In fact it is better if it is not open when Mailsteward is archiving.
I might have an old dmg file on a backup disk, if you don’t have any success with the developer.
Note that Mailsteward does not allow you to restore archived emails back into Mail. It stores the emails in a different format (mySQL) - this is actually an advantage because I can view the content of emails from previous versions of macOS/OSX.