Recommendations for a new FTP client

There was no warning for my favorite FTP client, YummyFTP. And the developer’s site seems to have disappeared. :frowning: I am using FileZilla for now, but hate the UI. It’s so clunky.

I looked at the Transmit page, but the page itself has so many problems with my Mac I am skeptical about trying the client.

Any nice FTP clients people can recommend? I use FTP all the time for my work.

Any nice FTP clients people can recommend?

I still use Interarchy. Might not be fancy, but it just works.

1 Like

Somebody at Reddit recommended Forklift. Forklift seems to work great! In just a few minutes I got used to the UI. It seems to have even more options than YummyFTP did, and looks really nice.

Also, it seems I once bought ForkLift as part of a promo bundle. They remembered my license from 2011. So I can buy it at a discounted price.

I have been using Transmit for many years and highly recommend it.

What page did you visit and what kind of problems did you have with it?

Daviid

In addition to being clunky, it usually comes with an adware installer if you choose the big green download button. If you click the link further down for “Show additional download options” you will find a Mac OS X download link that will give you an adware free bzip2 file. From then on, just update from within the app.

At the Transmit page there is a serial number check. I think I might have had a serial number at one time. But that feature didn’t work. It did at the Forklift page though.

Fetch, but I didn’t check compatibility with Catalina

Diane

1 Like

Cyberduck is pretty well made and generally feature-complete; Forklift has been at times very unreliable for us; Transmit is great, and I do like Panic. I was very sad and a bit mad when they abandoned iOS shortly after we bought in all around. They offered refunds but we decided to support them as a company. Also use Yummy products; wasn’t aware they folded.