Q: Time Machine solution

I recently read about a design failure in Apple’s Time Capsule leading to data loss (https://appleinsider.com/articles/21/07/08/design-failure-in-apples-time-capsule-leads-to-data-loss). I’ve been using one, 2TB backing up 2 Macs, for many years, only for Time Machine (TM) (wired to my router), have experienced total loss several times (may or may not be related to this design flaw), and have long wished I had a more reliable Time Machine. I’m no techie. From what I’ve read, NAS seems to be what I need (I’ve looked at some Synology and WD devices), but I’ve also read that Apple’s TM software doesn’t play well with non-Apple devices.

I’d like to achieve the same TM backup functions on a 2TB or so drive. I’d be grateful for all suggestions, hardware and software, and help. (2020 MBAir, Big Sur; I also make regular SuperDuper clones.)

If you are only backing up one Mac… plug one or more drives into it. I also used a Time Capsule for years, but I found that large backups take forever… so I plugged a drive in and have not noticed anything off since. It just works. :wink:

Mind you, if you have a low amount of daily changes on your Mac then a Time Capsule should be fine.

As to the occasional reset of the backups: it’s disconcerting but it’s fine. These are backups after all. If you’re worried about not having enough overlap between backups then setup multiples. Time Machine can handle several devices to backup to at once.

I find it odd that people expect their backups to be perfect incremental archives of years worth of work. That’s not it’s job at all! It’s meant to CYA for recent failures. Some files, yes, but mostly rebuilding an entire mac.

HTH!

Cheers,

Dave