PDF software - thoughts?

See:

Just wondered if Preview (and other PDF apps for that matter) are considered “stable” at the moment?

I know the story above is from some time ago, but still in 2022 I have editing issues in all my PDF applications where markup gets screwed-up, with even Preview being continually unreliable for marking-up documents that need to be accessed and used days/weeks/years after their creation.

I don’t author docs as PDF, just save from other apps or from scans done on a (ScanSnap) doc scanner, which I then use ‘markup’ tools in each app to add additional text or whatever as needed. Even with my very modest needs, issues remain.

Just some of the regular problems I get (typically after saving & reopening a doc):

• text colour changes from a colour back to black when re-editing.
  • font changes entirely for no reason.
  • text moves slightly out of place, ruining the layout.
    …and more.

I’m not a developer so have no real understanding of the various backend ‘engines’ that make these apps work – presumably that info may be commercially sensitive, hence apps don’t make it clear, unfortunately.
So any info on what seems to be a quality, reliable, stable, apps would be great. :man_shrugging:

Apps I have include:

• Preview - engine: PDFKit (presumably?)
  • PDFpen (via Setapp) - engine: Kofax
  • Nuance Power PDF For Mac (via ScanSnap iX1500 purchase) - engine: Kofax
  • iOS/iPadOS built-in markup tool - engine: PDFKit (presumably?)

Other popular apps:

• PDF Expert
  • GoodNotes
  • Notability
  • LiquidText / LiquidText Pro (although not a typical edit and save type app)