Passkeys are coming: Apple's Keychain Access or a Password Manager?

So, I’m not sure where to head to next. I take security seriously, and I’m not sure if I should stick with 1Password, which I’ve been using for the last 16 years, or start using Apple’s Keychain on my iMac. 1Password comes in handy on my iPhone also since it automatically syncs (as does Contacts, Calendar, and Photos using iCloud). So … what is the best approach. If it is Apple’s Keychain going forward, does it work across devices?

I’ve been using a Mac for about 25 years, just personally, not for business, and I still have questions and no one personally, family or friends to turn to for answers. That’s why membership in Tidbits and in NMUG and the few newsletter’s that I get help out.

1 Like

The very reason why I did switch to using iCloud Keychain is precisely because it syncs very well from my Macs to my iPhone and vice versa. In my experience, iCloud syncing in general is not super reliable, but I will say that I have yet to run into any trouble with iCloud Keychain and its syncing.

Howard Oakley recently did a great little series on keychains. It’s very good reading to familiarize yourself with how iCloud Keychain actually works. Here are two articles from that series.

4 Likes

Thank you, Simon. I will look into this!

1PW is much more capable than iCloud Keychain…it lets you keep encrypted documents and uses categories to let’you more easily find what you’re looking for, and because it’s data is only decrypted on device may be more secure, I don’t know if the same is true for keychains or if Apple has any ability to decrypt them as I’ve never looked into it. 1PW is pretty much the gold standard though…and while the company seems to be turning away some from individual users and Macs in general towards their common code and business customers they’re still pretty much the best around in what they do.