My iPad Pro M1 13-inch 2022: was it a waste?

I’m not sure how useful my iPad Pro 11 inch M1 bought in 2021 is.

I think if I was a student or somebody like that, with very light computing needs, you can argue that the iPad is a reasonable alternative to a MacBook Air. It’s arguable though. Of course if it’s a computer substitute a bigger screen would probably be better.

I work at home on my 14-inch MacBook Pro M1 from 2021, connected to a 27-inch external monitor. Next to that I have my iPhone Pro 13 which I can’t live without. Next to that is my iPad Pro which I almost never touch. Sometime “just to use it” I’ll pick it up to read a book in the Kindle app. But I’m usually ok reading on my iPhone too.

I got it originally thinking I could use it on weekends for a volunteer class I teach at, instead of lugging my MBP, but we ended up sticking with Zoom meetings since the pandemic. Then I started carrying it around outside in a backpack in case of work emergencies. I still sometimes do that, but I really don’t go anywhere hardly at all.

I’ll make more use of it on my U.S. trip in April - first trip in 4 years! - but it sort of feels like a waste at the moment. And probably an iPad lower-model would have been just fine.

It’s really a nice device though, with the Apple smart folio keyboard case. I just don’t know what to do with it. :slight_smile:

1 Like

As someone with lots of devices (and that same iPad), I’ve found what I like is to delegate different tasks to different devices. I do use iPad more for consumption and entertainment (reading, games, video), but I like that using it for that is not only ideal for it’s design, but it offsets a load from my main Mac. Even though my 16" MBP is more than capable of doing a lot at once (I barely push it out of first gear), it’s more of a cognitive burden – out of sight, out of mind – so having some tasks elsewhere lets me use the Mac for what it’s better at, and keeps me focused.