Most inexpensive external display setup for 2017 iMac?

The display on my mom’s 2017 iMac died, and the Apple Store is in the process of replacing it. I last backed her up probably a couple weeks ago before I installed the latest update to Monterey. Hopefully she won’t lose any data in the process. It would have been nice to be able to perform another backup before taking it in, which would have required an external display.

My own iMac is from the same generation and not too much newer. I have no experience with second displays and the connections available on my iMac.

What’s the cheapest setup I could have? I don’t need a big screen (smaller is probably better anyway), and I don’t need a high-quality picture. I just need to be able to see a picture on the screen in an emergency. This is not for a dual-monitor setup that would remain in day-to-day usage.

Thanks!
-Will

Any iMac’s Thunderbolt port should be able to provide DisplayPort video to an external monitor with just a compatible cable.

The correct cable will depend on the model iMac you have.

iMacs old enough to have Thunderbolt 1 or 2 (2015 and older models) use a mini DisplayPort cable. So get a generic miniDP-to-DisplayPort cable. Newer iMacs that have Thunderbolt 3 (2017 and later) should use a generic USB-C-to-DisplayPort cable.

So get an inexpensive monitor with DisplayPort input and the corresponding cable. Just plug it in and macOS should do the right thing - displaying either a mirror of the internal display or an extended desktop. Set it up the way you like (I’d suggest mirroring for your purpose) and it will remember the setting for when you need it in the future.

2 Likes

Or use an old TV with an HDMI cable & adapter from the Mac.
But either way the Mac might not switch to the external display without changing the display settings using the (defunct) internal display - there might be a keyboard shortcut to do this.
Try Command Fn F1 (toggles mirroring on my Macbook Air)