Keyboard Maestro 10.0

Originally published at: Keyboard Maestro 10.0 - TidBITS

Substantial update to the automation and clipboard utility gains the capability to display information and custom menus in the menu bar, supports subroutines, and adds a plethora of new triggers, actions, filters, tokens, and functions. ($36 new, $25 upgrade, 34.4 MB)

2 Likes

I have never really looked at this application.
I am searching for a replacement to the subscription based Text Expander that I have been using for many years now.
This app looks like it does what TE does, but a whole lot more.

Is that a correct assumption?

Rich

1 Like

Keyboard Maestro can do some of what TextExpander can do, but you would have to set up each expansion separately, and I think they’d need some sort of modifier key when you wanted to invoke them (rather than just typing a string).

The main alternatives to TextExpander are Typinator from Ergonis and TypeIt4Me from Riccardo Ettore. Both are good.

I was looking at those as well. Looks like you can move your TE expansions over to either.
Which way to go is a question.
Anyone else have an opinion about which of these two, Typinator or Typeit4me, are better/easier/ to use?

Thanks Adam…

Rich

You can set macros in Keyboard Maestro to execute when you type a string. I have several that type common phrases for me for situations where Apple’s normal text expanding doesn’t work (like in Mail, website forms, etc).

2 Likes

I use Typinator. Easy to use, does what I want and straightforward

1 Like

ccstone in the Clipboard Manager thread mentioned Typinator:

For snippets/boilerplate to be reused I use Typinator. Of all of them I’m most satisfied with it for its very specific task and wish I could convince the guys at Ergonis to add Clipboard History to the mix.

1 Like

Same here. Plus they have excellent support.

I appreciate the great feedback. Thank you