Is it time for Big Sur yet?

With the release of iOS 11.2.2, is it finally “safe”, and time to upgrade my computers from Catalina? All of the apps that I use are 64-bit compliant, so there shouldn’t be an issue there. Is the OS stable enough that I won’t see any issues?

I would not update everything until you have done a test install on a separate partition and made sure your personal workflow is still intact. If you do pre-press work and require the ability to remove or deactivate fonts installed by Apple, it would be a mistake to go to Big Sur from what I have read.

1 Like

Thanks Tom. I’m good that regard. I don’t do a whole lot other than photography, and those apps are all Big Sur ready.

I’ve been running Big Sur on my 2016 MBA for a couple of months (after Catalina for only about 6 weeks) and it’s been running fine. I had one time when it spontaneously shut down when waking from sleep (I have no idea why), but generally it’s been pretty stable. No loss of mail like people were complaining about with Catalina.

I’m still on 11.2.1; I haven’t seen the 11.2.2 upgrade yet.

1 Like

Wow, that is interesting for me as still on Catalina I’m getting spontaneous restarts many multiple times a day and have been working with Apple on this with no success. Yesterday was 15 restarts many in triplets were it restarts and before the progress bar appears it restarts again and then on the third try complet

Pardon me if this is too silly to ask of someone savvy enough to even be on this site but:

That’s never happened to me (now on Catalina), but when strange stuff (like this) begins to happen, my first step is to see if I can fix it. My usual routine is OnyX, CleanMyMac, then TechTool Pro, and that usually fixes the problem, or at least gives me enough clues to be able to correct it myself. Have you done any of this, or tried anything similar?

Have you tried Safe Boot Mode to determine if it’s the OS that’s causing the issues vs an application that’s loading?