How best to learn proper usage of Terminal commands

I am very interested in finding solutions to various problems I am having with Mac OS (presently still on High Sierra). Many postings I find for problem solving involve terminal commands.
I already get stuck when using „sudo“ : “Username is not in the sudoers file. This incident will be reported”.
When do I use „quit“, „exit“, should I always use terminal commands as Admin user etc.? I am afraid to do harm to my data/ running system.
I have been using personal computers since 1984, and in 2009 I finally got sick and tired of Windows and moved to a better world called Mac OS X. I have pretty basic programming skills going back to Cobol and Basic.

What do y‘all think is the best approach to learning how to properly use terminal commands? How did you master that learning curve? Is there the one „bible“ for it in the form of a book or a website?

Many thanks for your comments and suggestions.

https://www.takecontrolbooks.com/command-line/

I think it is smart to start out with https://www.takecontrolbooks.com/command-line/ After that I would have a look at this book. It is my bible. Shell-Programming-Unix-Linux-Developers I have the third edition Read the reviews there.

I also recommend Joe Kissell’s Take Control book.

Here are two courses I’ve come across recently:

Bart Busschotts’ Taming the Terminal is based on a series of podcast segments he did with Allison Sheridan. I’ve found it helpful to read an entry and then go back and follow along with the corresponding podcast segment.

Another one that you may find helpful, but more fast-paced and with a wider scope, is MIT’s Missing Semester site and videos — a series of lectures for beginning computer science students about using the command line.

1 Like