Downgrade from a Mac Pro to a Mac Mini or Mac Studio?

I am a recently retired research scientist. I used my Mac Pro7,1 (late 2019, 12-Core Intel Xeon W) as my computational platform. At times I was running up to 10 Fortran programs simultaneously. Some of these calculations would take a day or two to complete. Now I am thoroughly retired and no longer need a compute engine. This Mac Pro sits here taking up space and using more power than appropriate.
I’m thinking about replacing the Pro with either the M3 Mac Mini that is probably coming out this month or the M3 Mac Studio that may appear later this summer. Currently, I have one 32 inch LG monitor attached and only plug in external drives when doing a backup. The number of external ports on a Mini is probably enough, but I like the flexibility of the added ports on the Studio.
When I enter the data for my Pro into Apple’s web site they will give me a trade in credit of almost $1000. Every month that number goes down slightly. By summer I don’t know how much Apple will credit me.
Should I get the Mini or wait for the Studio? I’m not poor, so money is not really a problem, but I do hate to waste money or have technology sitting around unused. My wife uses an Apple laptop which I also use. However, we need separate machines.
Which one should I buy? M3 Mini or M3 Studio? Thanks, Gordon

What would you be using it for, now that the heavy compute load is gone? That would make a difference to the recommendations.

1 Like

Having considered a similar trade-off a few months ago, I’ll note that a pretty much maxed-out Mac mini configured with an M2 Pro chip, with maxed-out memory and, say 2TB storage (costing just above $3k) has performance characteristics pretty close to a minimal Mac Studio (with M2 Max chip) configuration with 2TB of storage costing just about $3k. Although at this point, I’d wait for a M3 Mac Mini myself to see how that compares. [Although useful performance benchmarks may not be available right away.]