Do AI modifications of photos create false memories or alter reality?

As a photographer, I find it disturbing people are so willing to alter reality just for a cleaner picture.

I’d ask people to consider carefully before blithely doing this.

What you created with three taps Adam was indeed a ‘cleaner’ image - albeit with clearly visible ‘photoshopped’ artefacts.

But now you a have false memory of the day.

The resultant picture shows the same moment of two happy people with medals but it seems the event wasn’t important enough to have a PA system with large speakers.

Just two people in front of a minimalist shed.

That wasn’t what happened on the day - it makes the moment seem less important and once people see the artefacts left by removal of objects why should they believe the people really won the medals - maybe they were photoshopped in ¯_(ツ)_/¯

The increasing use of the erase ‘feature’ will totally undermine a photograph’s value - and create false memories.

Just my opinion of course.

2 Likes

Consider this scenario. My family is out walking in the woods. I take a photo of my daughters walking by. When I come home, I discover that a person who I did not see at the time makes a distracting part of the image. Is it wrong to remove that person?

2 Likes

Why not? Obviously there’s a line that can be crossed of when a photo is no longer a photo, but photographers have been manipulating images for over 100 years. Even just choosing which film or lens to use changes “reality” and isn’t necessarily what you see.

Pro photographers retouch images all the time, removing tiny blemishes and taking out distracting items.