Companies don’t seem to understand “new” email domains

WARNING: Major gripe below.

I just went to Lowe’s to purchase a new appliance. They needed my email address in order to deliver it. However, when I gave it to them, their system insisted my email address was invalid.

My email address uses the *.name top level domain and many places still insist that this top level domain doesn’t exist and thus my email address is invalid despite the fact I’ve been using it for almost 20 years. The *.name domain was established almost two decades ago in 2000.

I wonder if someone from France has issues with their email address if they use their country’s *.fr top-level domain. And what about almost 1500 of newly approved top level domains that came about in 2013?

This isn’t the first time my email address has proven problematic. Poland Springs also won’t let me use my email address and neither do two major rental car companies or one of my frequent flyer accounts. For these people, I have a Gmail address that forwards any email sent to it to my *.name address.

2 Likes

Interesting. I wonder if these companies are using ancient email software or if they contract with an email provider?

Probably someone wrote a regex for email address validation some years ago and no one is interested in updating it.

Dave

1 Like

If your memory goes back far enough, at one time there were only three-letter TLDs (ie, .com, .edu…). When I started my business and used a “.info” TLD, almost all older eMail server software didn’t know what to do with it. Today I rarely run into such software. You need to contact the webmaster/IT-geek of the company to let them know something is not right. It’s a fairly simple fix but they need to know about it in order to fix it.

2 Likes

Actually, were originally seven TLDs: .com, .org, .net, .edu, .gov, and the two most people miss: .mil and .int which was specifically reserved for the UN and its organizations.