Colormunki Display not seen on 2019 MacBook Pro

Hi there, I’m a professional photographer and it’s hugely important to me that I keep my displays color calibrated. I do this by using an x-rite Colormunki Display, which has a USB-A connector on, and thus I have to use an Apple USB-A to USB-C adapter, as this allows me to calibrate my Mac Studio and 2019 MacBook Pro. Both computers are running the same MacOS (13.0.1) and the same version of ccStudio. When I connect the Colormunki Display to my Mac Studio, the software sees the device and I can profile the display. However, using the same hardware, when I connect it to any of the 4 USB-C ports on my MacBook Pro, the software does not see the device. When I then go to System Settings → System Report → USB, I see the Colormunki Display listed on on the bus. I’ve even tried using a different Apple USB-A to USB-C adapter, but I get no joy.

Any suggestions on why the ccStudio app might be failing to see the Colormunki Display on my MacBook Pro, and what I can do to resolve the issue?

Just a SWAG, since I have never used any of the products you mentioned, but does the ccStudio app install any kernel extension? If so, perhaps it hasn’t been installed on your laptop?

Go to System Preference → Security & Privacy to see if there is a button asking for your authorization to install a kernel extension. See also Kernel extensions in macOS - Apple Support

If there is no kernel extension involved, perhaps there is a background app that needs to be running. See Open items automatically when you log in on Mac - Apple Support to view the set of login items. If the Mac Studio has a login item for ccStudio, then make sure the MacBook Pro has the same login item.

Could it be a license/activation issue? If you require two licenses to run ccStudio on two computers, do you have them? If so, do the two computers require separate license keys? If so, are they using the right ones?