Big Sur Makes Changes to Many Apple Apps and Basic Features

Originally published at: https://tidbits.com/2020/06/22/big-sur-makes-changes-to-many-apple-apps-and-basic-features/

Apple unveiled macOS 11.0 Big Sur during the WWDC keynote, showing off overhauls of Messages and Maps, while improving Safari, Photos, and other apps. Mail was conspicuously absent for now.

Too bad they didn’t talk about Mail. Possibly because it’s the most frustrating Apple app to use and it’s the one I use the most. I don’t care what else they do, as long as they get rid of the damn hide-and-seek interface (not just in Mail, but that’s where I notice it the most). As a Mac consultant, I find myself having to explain to clients that they must magically know to hover the mouse in a certain area to see a control they know must be somewhere.

I long for the days of Jef Raskin. We are deep in the territory of form over function.

1 Like

They may not have been ready. I expect it’ll look like iPad Mail, which was demoed and I was not that big a fan of the new look.

Like you, Colleen, I would have also liked to hear and see more about Mail. Ironically, it’s Mail they chose to show the refreshed UI. But just very little detail, unfortunately.

2 Likes

Thank you for sharing your clients’ problems with hidden controls, Colleen.

As Don Norman said:

Does the user perceive that clicking on that location [on the screen] is a meaningful, useful action to perform?

If an indicator of such a “meaningful, useful action” is hidden unless the pointer is close to it, you obviously cannot easily answer that question. Especially in highly complex applications, there can be good reasons to hide some less-commonly used controls to reduce the perceived complexity of the overall UI (“progressive disclosure” is the technical term).

That typically applies to applications for expert, and well-trained, users, but not for something as mundane and widely-used as a mail client. Or a browser. Or a to-do list. Etc.