Article suggestion: useful utilities and tricks

In the past 48 hours I have both: discovered a useful addition to a set of shortcuts I thought I knew extremely well (and use frequently); and discovered a long-standing utility that looks very useful to me but I was previously completely unaware of. I’ve been using the Mac for 25+ years and have always been interested in system enhancement utilities, customising my setup to be as efficient as possible, and obscure but useful shortcuts (cmd-shift-. to toggle displaying hidden files is one of my favourites of the last couple years). These last two days have shown me that even for someone who’s spent a lot of time filling their head with this kind of thing, there is still a lot out there waiting to be discovered.

This lead me to think that the following would be an interesting TidBITS article: ask TidBITS staff/regular contributors for:

1. their top 3 favourite utilities are (ideally things that enhance the system or common daily tasks like renaming files) with 3-5 sentences for each on why it’s so useful
  2. their top 3 (or some other small number) favourite keyboard shortcuts

I know there are various in-depth articles about useful utilities that TidBITs has published, but I thought this might be a way of bringing to light some things which don’t merit a full article or much more than a mention, but would be of interest. Having limits on how many and how much has to be written about each would hopefully make this not too onerous for TidBITS staff, and people can explore them more in the ensuing discussion.

4 Likes

At the Huntsville Macintosh User Group, we talk about this kind of thing regularly.

Here’s one to start with. AppCleaner, Better uninstall with more thorough cleanup than most utilities I’ve tried. There’s at least ten more utilities I could list.

2 Likes