Apple Extends Privacy Protections to Traffic Leaving Its Walled Garden

Originally published at: Apple Extends Privacy Protections to Traffic Leaving Its Walled Garden - TidBITS

New services and features in operating systems coming later this year will improve security and privacy for everyone using Apple products, even outside the Apple walled-garden ecosystem. iCloud+ even adds anonymized browsing.

Glenn,

I’ve been using MailTrackerBlocker for a couple of months now in Mail on 10.14 to get similar results, at least for tracking pixels.

The next-to-most recent update added a report so you can see how many trackers have been blocked and an icon in the message window to see if any where blocked in that message.

I don’t now if the forthcoming macOS 12 feature will have any reporting available, but I’m often amazed at what is shoehorned into email and would hope that I can continue monitoring what evil intentions are thwarted.

Cheers,
Jon

1 Like

First, it would be nice to be able to see when tracking pixels are blocked. Maybe put an icon in the email where the tracking pixel would have been, had it downloaded.

Second, if you block tracking pixels, then they will just escalate to something larger. Of course, the images require unique URL’s in order to be useful for tracking, and a mail server can scan a broadcast email across multiple recipients to find the image that looks like a tracker, and then block it wholesale. Finding the tracking image in a single recipient email (non broadcast) might not always be so easy.

Most tracking pixels are 1 pixel by 1 pixel, so an icon would be hard to see anyway and might change the rendering of the HTML if it was larger than 1x1.