Apple blocked and (finally) unblocked my credit card

Just sharing here for anyone Googling and looking for a sanity check…

Sometime right around the new year, one or more of my Apple devices complained about me needing to fix my credit card. This is the same CC I have been using for quite a few years, including all those years as my primary payment method with Apple for me and my family. It kept saying things like “There is a problem with your payment method”.

I tried many times to “fix” it, although the correct information matched what was shown there already. So finally I tried deleting it as a pay method, which worked. But of course, adding it back was declined. It gave no reason and suggested contacting Apple, which I did.

Well, that was over 3 weeks ago. We spoke many times. They made me contact my CC company yet again, even though the latter had already told me all was good (and no other vendors were having trouble with my CC). They tried to get me to contact the Visa network directly which of course is impossible to do. I’m not their customer. They are the gateway between my CC bank and Apple. I told Apple that there was no evidence from the bank that any attempt to charge my card was even being made and that they needed to provide a transaction ID or and error message in order for them to research further.

Apple made me send screen recordings and upload diagnostic logs more than once because their upload system failed to register the uploads the first time. Then I still waited a couple more weeks.

Finally, I got a random call today. Thankfully, at least the same guy has been tracking my issue most of the way. He told me engineering made a change and to try again. It worked now. Of course, I wanted to know what they did, but he said they didn’t provide any details.