Outlook For Mac 2021 Empties Inbox

Hello “All”! I have been computing since 1986 with PC and eventually Windows. And in 2008, went over to Apple. I have always used Office Professional. For Mac, it became Office for Mac 2008 and then through the iterations to Office For Mac 2021.

Just recently, an update brought 16.73 to replace 16.72 and either with the update or just before it, something occurred that I have never witnessed in all my years in front of a monitor, specifically, my Outlook for Mac 2021 emptied my Inbox spontaneously and instantaneously accompanied by several sounds as the Sync Error window (you have to access it) filled up with CREATE Failed and then a subdirectory follows, i.e., Trash, Send, etc.

First time, I did a double take as in did that just happened or more like what just happened. Like most helpless feeling users even with my experience (I learn more from when things go wrong than when they go right), I started pressing keys. And lo and behold, the program started downloading 2911 emails ( I have 10XX in my inbox) including all the emails I deleted, including the deleted emails, then, emptied from the Delete and Junk folders.

I also discovered that Contact Support in the HELP tab of Outlook was missing. So, I launched Word and asked their team for help. Was rewarded with Contact Support restored and the impression my tech support person provided in the belief all was solved. This by over the phone and with a screen share. Outlook Support is only text chatting. Well, allow me to cut to the chase: The Inbox is now emptying with and eventually downloading what it emptied. The sounds accompany the emptying. And it’s reached a frequency that prevents me from using my Outlook with any consistency.