Migration from Office for Mac 2011 options?

Just reading the recent TidBITS post about Office 2019.

I’m currently using Office 2011 on High Sierra.

I’m not a power user at all but I’m a very frequent user of both Excel and Word. I never use the other MS Office modules/apps.

I would appreciate any advice or experience on whether to upgrade to MS Office 2019 (purchase or sub), or

Move to Apple Pages and Numbers?

Thank you in advance for any experience/advice or links to info about this.

I’m in a somewhat similar situation, especially as far as using only Excel and (less frequently) Word. I have tried using Numbers, and while I do not consider myself to be anything close to a power user of Excel, Numbers simply seems broken by comparison. I have shifted some of my word processing to Pages, and it mostly meets my needs, which are quite simple. Perhaps I’ve been using the Microsoft products for too long (30 years), but the interfaces of Numbers and Pages are not comfortable for me.

Since I do not use other peoples’ documents, I have no intention of transitioning to Office 2019.

Norm Harris wrote “I would appreciate any advice or experience on whether to upgrade to MS Office 2019 (purchase or sub), or Move to Apple Pages and Numbers?”

Open some of your most complex files in Numbers and Pages, and see if they can cope. Make changes, save them, and make sure they open again with no funny stuff.

It’s worth trying out LibreOffice as well. It’s free and does quite well with Word files, though is missing things that can make collaborating difficult. I’ve heard that it’s not as good with Excel files, presumably depending on specific features and complexity. I keep it around because it’s also pretty good at recovering corrupted MS Office files.

https://www.libreoffice.org

1 Like