macOS Hidden Treasures: The Mac’s Hidden Markup Tools

Originally published at: https://tidbits.com/2018/11/19/macos-hidden-treasures-the-macs-hidden-markup-tools/

The Preview app has long provided tools that let you mark up an image with arrows, text, and even free-form drawing. But other Mac apps—Mail, Notes, Photos, TextEdit, and more—also provide access to similar markup tools, and now macOS 10.14 Mojave makes them available even in the Finder and the new screenshot interface. TidBITS members can read this article now; it will become available for everyone in a month.

Hi Sharon. Thank you for all those great tips.
I have been using Omnigraffle for object-based drawing for many years and it seems that many features that I Iike are now widely available in Mojave.

I still miss some of the great object-based drawing tools of AmiPro - a word processor first released with run-time Windows in the 1990s. One was the ability to create complex charts from a table of data and then edit any elements of the chart as shapes or text. I suppose there are modern apps to do similar but I haven’t needed the feature enough to go searching. I have managed to keep Amipro going in Windows XP using Parallels on the Mac, but it is too tedious for regular use and outputting in modern formats (pdf) is a bit of a nightmare.

Ah, object-based drawing. I still remember the thrill of the first object-based work I could do: SuperPaint, which had paint and object layers. It made tweaking/faking screenshots so much easier!

I am a member and never received advice this very interesting article was available for me a month ago. What happened?