Haven't received tidbits since March 18

Hi Tidbits,
I’ve not received any tidbits since March 18. I’m signed up for both individual messages and the summary. I’m also a paid member. My email hasn’t changed and I’ve also checked my spam folder and it isn’t going there. Please help!!!

Betty
bettyfellows@yahoo.com

Hi!

If you haven’t tried it yet, log in to your TidBITS account at tidbits.com and re-confirm your email address. Chances are that several TidBITS emails bounced and your address got marked as broken.

I know that a lot of folks really like Yahoo, but as a long-time mail admin I can tell you that they are the absolute worst email provider from an administrative perspective. They lose a lot of email (acknowledge it as received to the sending MTA but never deliver it to the user). They bounce messages (particularly mailing list messages) for seemingly arbitrary and capricious reasons. When you ask them to fix things so that they adhere to standards, they seem to take the attitude that they ARE the standard and the rest of the world needs to conform to them.

I would suggest that, if it’s at all practical for you, you get a non-Yahoo email address at least for mailing lists. It will save a lot of headaches for you and the admins of any lists of which you’re a member.

–Ron

First off, Betty, if you need help, please just write to me at ace@tidbits.com or to Lauri at support@tidbits.com, or send a private message here in Discourse, rather than posting to TidBITS Talk. No need to clutter thousands of email boxes with a support request.