FileMaker replacement

Now that I am the happy owner of a new MacBookPro 14” to replace my 2012 MBP (stuck on Mojave), I discover that File Maker 15 won’t run on Monterey, even thought it is 64 bit.

I have been using FM for over 30 years and have many relational db’s which will need to be converted to a new platform. The cost of upgrading to a later version of FM is prohibitive for just a single user application. I’m tossing between using Panorama X or creating SQL dbs. Its been a very long time since I used SQL on IBM DB2 tables on IBM mainframes but I assume the concepts are still similar. I know what is involved in the conversion to Panorama, having looked at demo versions in the past and finding it similar to FM. But with SQL and tables I have no idea of the practical implications of running them on a Mac, and I have never seen SQL applications in real use on a personal computer (don’t get around much these days!).

As an interim solution, I will put FM 15 on an 2013 Mini, so I do have time to do the conversions.

Do any of the esteemed Tidbit Talk users, have any ideas or comments? Or maybe know of other database systems that can handle relational tables AND doesn’t run on the cloud? Thanks.

2 Likes

It’s a difficult decision. I’ve also been a Filemaker developer for about 25 years and I still have some things I support. With the move to a subscription model I’m very reluctant to start anything with Filemaker. I do have the latest version which can still be purchased as a standalone but I don’t expect that to always be the case.

As for alternatives, Panorama is interesting and has a unique pricing model (pay for the hours you use). It’s just never really grabbed me when I tested it. I can’t even put my finger on why.